The Holy Trinity: VB-2, SP-1, SG-1

The Holy Trinity: VB-2, SP-1, SG-1

Postby Joske_Turbo » Wed May 16, 2018 7:37 am

Hello everybody

After years of being mainly a player my tendency to collect Boss pedals is quickly coming back over the last few months.
I'm still a student now and I never have much money, but in the long term I would love to get my hands on the three most rare Boss pedals, but at the moment I really can't see myself paying the ridiculous prices for them.
A question for you guys, just out of interest, as I know some of you are proud owners of these: how did you get them? Were you very lucky or did you pay the standard price? I'm curious to hear your stories!
Joske_Turbo
Silver Member
BossArea Gold Member

Re: The Holy Trinity: VB-2, SP-1, SG-1

Postby tbader » Wed May 16, 2018 9:01 pm

I have and love the VB-2, but I would never pay anywhere close to asking prices for one.

I got really lucky when I found my VB-2. An online website had it incorrectly listed as a VB-2w at the used VB-2w price of $160. It had the box and manual, as well.

And, I have little interest in the SP-1 or SG-1...especially at those prices.

I’d pick the PQ-4 over the SP-1, and a volume pedal over the SG-1 any day of the week.
tbader
Silver Member

Postby tbader » Wed May 16, 2018 9:04 pm

Here’s a pic, just for the fun of it.

tbader
Silver Member

Postby Mark123 » Thu May 17, 2018 12:30 am

To be so lucky to find one one for cheap (and actually get a hold of it) you'd have to be monitoring your local second hand list day and night. I once saw a vb-2 listed for 50 euros and offered 100 by email (don't start bidding online) and actually got it. Which was a miracle I think and the seller must have been a man of his word. In most cases I guess you won't get the pedal and it might be a frustrating affair.
I sold mine after a month or two for twice what I paid. I could have gotten more but it is now in the hands of a touring pro, and I like that (rather than in a drawer).